rrlogowipo2  gulfstream consider it done  edr-logodunhillhermesliberty vat69









































Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

Hurlingham Open coverage-Wednesday


Wins by La Dolfina and Alegria in Hurlingham Open

By Alex Webbe

In first turn, on the Court 2, Alegria defeated Miramar 12-9; While then in 1, La Dolfina (title Defender) beat La Aguada/Las Monjitas, by 12-6. Listening to these results, both winners will define next Saturday 25/10 at the Hurlingham Club, the area and the first finalist of the tournament while the losers were eliminated and only will battle for the honor, and the third position in the group.

The second round of play got started Wednesday afternoon in the 2014 Hurlingham Cup with Alegria (Polito Pieres, Hilario Ulloa, Lucas Monteverde and Frederick Mannix) scoring their second consecutive victory over Miramar (Gonzalo del Tour, Valerio Zubiaurre, Inaki Laprida and Santiago Toccalino) at the Argentine Polo Association’s Field 2 at Pilar.

Playing their second game without team captain Fred Mannix (broken finger-mallet hand), Alegria jumped out to an early 2-0 lead. The two first chukker goals went unanswered as Miramar struggled to find a weakness in the Alegria defense.

Miramar got some offense going in the second period, scoring three times while limiting Alegria to just two goals. Alegria continued to lead, but Miramar had cut the advantage down to a single goal, 4-3.

Alegria added three goals in the third to extend their lead to two goals in the third, 7-5. Miramar scored twice but trailed, 7-5.

A resurgent Miramar took the field in the fourth with a vengeance. They scored twice and held Alegria scoreless. After the first four chukkers of play the score was all even at 7-7.

Alegria scored the only goal of the fifth chukker as the second half got underway. Miramar tried to find a goal but had to be content by holding Alegria to the one goal. Alegria was back in the lead, 8-7.

Alegria’s two sixth chukker goals had Alegria on top, 10-8, with Miramar managing a goal in the chukker.

Two more Alegria goals in the sixth went unanswered, 12-8, and Alegria coasted to the 12-9 finish at the end of the eighth.

Polito Pieres led the Alegria attack with seven goals (four on penalty shots). Lucas Monteverde added three and Alfredo Cappella Barabucci scored twice, once on a penalty conversion. Valerio Zubiaurre and Santiago Toccalino scored three goals apiece with Inaki Laprida scoring once on the day.

La Dolfina 12, La Aguada/Las Monjitas 6

In the second Hurlingham Open game of the day, La Dolfina (Adolfo Cambiaso, David Stirling, Pablo MacDonough and Juan Martin Nero) rode past La Aguada/Las Monjitas, 12-6.

Miramar had been humbled in their opening game of the Hurlingham Cup, falling to the defending championship La Dolfina team La Dolfina (Adolfo Cambiaso, David Stirling, Pablo MacDonough and Juan Martin Nero) 19-6, and they were determined to make a better showing of themselves this time out.

In a defensively-oriented opening chukker, La Aguada/Las Monjitas scored the only goal of the first chukker for the 1-0 lead, but everyone knew that it was just a matter of time.

La Dolfina added two goals to the scoreboard in the second while shutting out the La Aguada/Las Monjitas attack. The La Aguada/Las Monjitas lead was short-lived as La Dolfina left the field with a narrow 2-1 advantage.

La Dolfina stepped it up in the third period as La Aguada/Las Monjitas fought to stay in the game. Three goals by La Dolfina had them in the lead. By the end of the chukker the Pieres-led La Aguada/Las Monjitas offense was held to a single goal and trailed 5-2.

Two more goals from La Dolfina in the fourth had them in front by four goals. La Aguada/Las Monjitas managed a single goal but trailed at the end of the first half, 7-3.

La Dolfina stretched the lead to five goals, 9-4, in the fifth. The two teams exchanged single goals in the sixth with La Dolfina remaining on top by five goals, 10-5.

La Dolfina outscored La Aguada/Las Monjitas 2-1 in the final two periods for the 12-6 win.

Five of Adolfo Cambiaso’s six goals came on penalty conversions. Pelon Stirling was credited with four goals and Pablo MacDonough scored twice. Lucas James led the La Aguada/Las Monjitas attack with three goals (one on a penalty shot). Alejandro Novillo Astrada scored once from the field and once on a penalty shot. Eduardo Novillo Astrada added a goal in the losing effort.

Hurlingham Open play continues on Thursday, October 23rd with La Aguada (Facundo Sola, Guillermo Caset Jr., Miguel Novillo Astrada and Ignacio Novillo Astrada) facing Chapaleufu (Pepe Heguy, Nachi Heguy, Francisco Bensadon and Eduardo Heguy) at 2PM. At 4:30PM on Field 1, Ellerstina (Facundo Pieres, Gonzalo Pieres Jr., Mariano Aguerre and Nicolas Pieres) will play Magual (Alejandro Muzzio, Ignacio Toccalino, Marcos Di Paola and Jaime Garcia Huidobro).